Docling: Plugin entry points are imported before the allow_external_plugins check
Docling simplifies document processing by parsing diverse formats and providing integrations with the generative AI ecosystem. From 2.27.0 until 2.131.0, Docling plugin factories in docling/models/factories/base_factory.py call load_setuptools_entrypoints() before applying the allow_external_plugins setting, so every module registered in the Docling entry-point group is imported even when external plugins are disabled. An installed third-party or compromised package can therefore execute import-time code when Docling starts, while the subsequent namespace filter misleadingly reports that the plugin was not loaded. This issue is fixed in 2.131.0.
CVE-2026-105745
Primary source · Revision 1
Imported from structured advisory data. Source references identify upstream records or fields; verify affected versions and your deployed configuration.
Security context
Source reference: cve:CVE-2026-105745
docling
Source reference: /containers/cna/affected/0/product
- Affected versions
- Not stated in this record
- Fixed versions
- Not stated in this record
- Prerequisites
- Not stated in this record
docling-slim
Source reference: /containers/cna/affected/1/product
- Affected versions
- Not stated in this record
- Fixed versions
- Not stated in this record
- Prerequisites
- Not stated in this record
Structured affected-version data
Original package identities and version rules from this source.
[
{
"vendor": "docling-project",
"product": "docling",
"versions": [
{
"status": "affected",
"version": ">= 2.27.0, < 2.131.0"
}
]
},
{
"vendor": "docling-project",
"product": "docling-slim",
"versions": [
{
"status": "affected",
"version": ">= 2.27.0, < 2.131.0"
}
]
}
]- Related CVEs
- CVE-2026-105745
Source reference:
/cveMetadata/cveId
Publisher severity
medium
Source reference: /containers/cna/metrics
- Event
- #9323 · Revision 1
- Added to Heist Feed
- Publisher date