Skip to content
Heist/ feed
High

MONAI before 1.6.0 OS Command Injection via dataset_name_or_id

Type: advisorySource: Official CVE List1 source record

MONAI before 1.6.0 is vulnerable to OS command injection in the nnUNetV2Runner component (monai.apps.nnunet.nnunetv2_runner). User-controlled values taken from the YAML configuration file (notably dataset_name_or_id) and from CLI/kwargs arguments are concatenated into a command string without quoting or validation and then passed to subprocess with shell=True, so shell metacharacters (e.g., ';' on Linux, '&' on Windows) are interpreted. If a victim loads and processes a crafted configuration file — for example by instantiating nnUNetV2Runner with the malicious YAML and invoking a training/validation job such as train_single_model() — arbitrary commands are executed with the privileges of the user running the job.

Announced Group revision 1
Original source ↗

CVE-2026-100844

Primary source · Revision 1

Imported from structured advisory data. Source references identify upstream records or fields; verify affected versions and your deployed configuration.

Security context

Source reference: cve:CVE-2026-100844

MONAI

Source reference: /containers/cna/affected/0/product

Affected versions
Not stated in this record
Fixed versions
Not stated in this record
Prerequisites
Not stated in this record

Structured affected-version data

Original package identities and version rules from this source.

[
  {
    "vendor": "Project-MONAI",
    "product": "MONAI",
    "versions": [
      {
        "status": "affected",
        "version": "0",
        "lessThan": "1.6.0",
        "versionType": "semver"
      },
      {
        "status": "unaffected",
        "version": "1.6.0",
        "versionType": "semver"
      }
    ],
    "packageURL": "pkg:pypi/monai",
    "defaultStatus": "unaffected"
  }
]
Related CVEs
CVE-2026-100844

Source reference: /cveMetadata/cveId

Publisher severity

high

Source reference: /containers/cna/metrics

Event
#12681 · Revision 1
Added to Heist Feed
Publisher date
Read the original announcement