PowerProtect Data Domain — security advisory
Dell PowerProtect Data Domain, Feature Release versions 7.7.1.0 through 8.8, LTS2024 release versions 7.13.1.0 through 7.13.1.80, LTS2025 release versions 8.3.1.0 through 8.3.1.40, LTS2026 release versions 8.6.1.0 through 8.6.1.20, contain an Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') vulnerability. An unauthenticated attacker with remote access could potentially exploit this vulnerability, leading to Filesystem access for attacker.
- Products
- PowerProtect Data Domain
- Affected versions
- Not specified
- Fixed versions
- Not specified
- CVEs
- CVE-2026-86388
- Confirmed fixed CVEs
- Not specified
- Updated in this feed
- 1 Nov 2026, 00:24 UTC · Revision 1
Source evidence
Dell PowerProtect Data Domain, Feature Release versions 7.7.1.0 through 8.8, LTS2024 release versions 7.13.1.0 through 7.13.1.80, LTS2025 release versions 8.3.1.0 through 8.3.1.40, LTS2026 release versions 8.6.1.0 through 8.6.1.20, contain an Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') vulnerability. An unauthenticated attacker with remote access could potentially exploit this vulnerability, leading to Filesystem access for attacker.
cve:CVE-2026-86388
PowerProtect Data Domain
Fixed versions: Not specified
Complete source record
{
"id": "101fcbdab60e0ce685f6af7174bfca0631d63073d1779123c21e446e627540e9",
"url": "https://www.cve.org/CVERecord?id=CVE-2026-86388",
"method": "structured",
"payload": {
"kind": "advisory",
"title": "CVE-2026-86388",
"summary": "Dell PowerProtect Data Domain, Feature Release versions 7.7.1.0 through 8.8, LTS2024 release versions 7.13.1.0 through 7.13.1.80, LTS2025 release versions 8.3.1.0 through 8.3.1.40, LTS2026 release versions 8.6.1.0 through 8.6.1.20, contain an Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal') vulnerability. An unauthenticated attacker with remote access could potentially exploit this vulnerability, leading to Filesystem access for attacker.",
"evidence": "cve:CVE-2026-86388",
"products": [
{
"name": {
"value": "PowerProtect Data Domain",
"evidence": "/containers/cna/affected/0/product"
},
"prerequisites": [],
"fixed_versions": [],
"affected_versions": []
}
],
"severity": "medium",
"structured": {
"id": "CVE-2026-86388",
"aliases": [
"CVE-2026-86388"
],
"metrics": [
{
"format": "CVSS",
"cvssV3_1": {
"scope": "UNCHANGED",
"version": "3.1",
"baseScore": 5.3,
"attackVector": "NETWORK",
"baseSeverity": "MEDIUM",
"vectorString": "CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N",
"integrityImpact": "NONE",
"userInteraction": "NONE",
"attackComplexity": "LOW",
"availabilityImpact": "NONE",
"privilegesRequired": "NONE",
"confidentialityImpact": "LOW"
},
"scenarios": [
{
"lang": "en",
"value": "GENERAL"
}
]
}
],
"affected": [
{
"vendor": "Dell",
"product": "PowerProtect Data Domain",
"versions": [
{
"status": "affected",
"version": "0",
"lessThan": "8.9.0.0 or later",
"versionType": "semver"
},
{
"status": "affected",
"version": "0",
"lessThan": "7.13.1.90 or later",
"versionType": "semver"
},
{
"status": "affected",
"version": "0",
"lessThan": "8.3.1.50 or later",
"versionType": "semver"
},
{
"status": "affected",
"version": "0",
"lessThan": "8.6.1.30 or later",
"versionType": "semver"
}
],
"defaultStatus": "unaffected"
}
],
"modified": "2026-10-28T09:40:58.851Z",
"provider": "cve",
"references": [
"https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/en-us/000515178/dsa-2026-416-security-update-for-dell-powerprotect-data-domain-multiple-vulnerabilities"
],
"provider_metadata": {
"cna": {
"orgId": "c550e75a-17ff-4988-97f0-544cde3820fe",
"shortName": "dell",
"dateUpdated": "2026-10-28T09:40:58.851Z"
}
}
},
"related_cves": [
{
"value": "CVE-2026-86388",
"evidence": "/cveMetadata/cveId"
}
],
"security_relevant": true,
"severity_evidence": "/containers/cna/metrics"
},
"source_id": "core-cve",
"document_id": 421039,
"published_at": "2026-10-28T09:40:58.851+00:00"
}