OpenClaw before 2026.7.1 Allowlist Bypass via Workspace Shadows
OpenClaw is an npm-distributed agent runtime. In versions >= 2026.2.26 and < 2026.7.1, PowerShell command analysis on Windows hosts running in exec allowlist mode could approve an exact executable resolved from PATH but subsequently execute a same-named executable located in the workspace directory. If lower-trust content can place an executable with an approved basename into an agent-writable workspace and steer an approved PowerShell command that uses a bare executable name, OpenClaw may run the workspace file instead of the allowlisted path, executing arbitrary code with the privileges of the Gateway or node-host user. The issue does not require replacement of the approved executable itself. Version 2026.7.1 contains a fix; as a workaround, avoid bare executable names in approved PowerShell commands and keep executable files out of agent-writable workspaces.
CVE-2026-100584
Primary source · Revision 1
Imported from structured advisory data. Source references identify upstream records or fields; verify affected versions and your deployed configuration.
Security context
Source reference: cve:CVE-2026-100584
OpenClaw
Source reference: /containers/cna/affected/0/product
- Affected versions
- Not stated in this record
- Fixed versions
- Not stated in this record
- Prerequisites
- Not stated in this record
Structured affected-version data
Original package identities and version rules from this source.
[
{
"vendor": "OpenClaw",
"product": "OpenClaw",
"versions": [
{
"status": "affected",
"version": "2026.2.26",
"lessThan": "2026.7.1",
"versionType": "semver"
},
{
"status": "unaffected",
"version": "2026.7.1",
"versionType": "semver"
}
],
"packageURL": "pkg:npm/openclaw",
"defaultStatus": "unaffected"
}
]- Related CVEs
- CVE-2026-100584
Source reference:
/cveMetadata/cveId
Publisher severity
medium
Source reference: /containers/cna/metrics
- Event
- #8662 · Revision 1
- Added to Heist Feed
- Publisher date