Skip to content
Heist/ feed
Medium

OpenClaw before 2026.7.1 Allowlist Bypass via Workspace Shadows

Type: advisorySource: Official CVE List1 source record

OpenClaw is an npm-distributed agent runtime. In versions >= 2026.2.26 and < 2026.7.1, PowerShell command analysis on Windows hosts running in exec allowlist mode could approve an exact executable resolved from PATH but subsequently execute a same-named executable located in the workspace directory. If lower-trust content can place an executable with an approved basename into an agent-writable workspace and steer an approved PowerShell command that uses a bare executable name, OpenClaw may run the workspace file instead of the allowlisted path, executing arbitrary code with the privileges of the Gateway or node-host user. The issue does not require replacement of the approved executable itself. Version 2026.7.1 contains a fix; as a workaround, avoid bare executable names in approved PowerShell commands and keep executable files out of agent-writable workspaces.

Announced Source revision 1
Original source ↗

CVE-2026-100584

Primary source · Revision 1

Imported from structured advisory data. Source references identify upstream records or fields; verify affected versions and your deployed configuration.

Security context

Source reference: cve:CVE-2026-100584

OpenClaw

Source reference: /containers/cna/affected/0/product

Affected versions
Not stated in this record
Fixed versions
Not stated in this record
Prerequisites
Not stated in this record

Structured affected-version data

Original package identities and version rules from this source.

[
  {
    "vendor": "OpenClaw",
    "product": "OpenClaw",
    "versions": [
      {
        "status": "affected",
        "version": "2026.2.26",
        "lessThan": "2026.7.1",
        "versionType": "semver"
      },
      {
        "status": "unaffected",
        "version": "2026.7.1",
        "versionType": "semver"
      }
    ],
    "packageURL": "pkg:npm/openclaw",
    "defaultStatus": "unaffected"
  }
]
Related CVEs
CVE-2026-100584

Source reference: /cveMetadata/cveId

Publisher severity

medium

Source reference: /containers/cna/metrics

Event
#8662 · Revision 1
Added to Heist Feed
Publisher date
Read the original announcement